Are You A Kingdom Thief?


Simple question but hard for most to answer. I am a Kingdom thief. It’s not something I am proud to admit, but it’s something I must admit. Lately, I have re-evaluated my walk with God. I have come to realize that, I have a lot of things I need to work on and tithing is the first. I have been under the curse long enough!

Growing up I was taught that We as Believers are suppose to tithe. Now don’t get it twisted, I checked to find biblical proof on the subject. One thing you will learn about me is that, I will check on what any pastor tells me. Why? How in the world do I know, if he knows, what he is talking about? So, I found several scriptures on tithing and giving. The first being Malachi 3:8. The passage reads:  8 “Will a man rob God? Yet you rob me. “But you ask, ‘How do we rob you?’  “In tithes and offerings. 9 You are under a curse—the whole nation of you—because you are robbing me. 10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it. I grew up on this scripture, but didn’t consistently use it.

Now I always felt that passage was self explanatory. It’s in plain English,”Will a man rob God”? The answer is either yes or no. There should be no in between. Many people rob God on a weekly/monthly basis. We have so many excuses as to why we don’t tithe. I asked myself today, “What if God didn’t consistently wake me up? What if His excuse was He didn’t have enough breath to breathe into me on that day? Or He just didn’t feel like it”?  I would be so screwed. So after getting the answer to my question, I knew that tithing should never be a problem for me again!  I asked my friend about tithing and she gave the excuse of; tithing is not affordable at the present time. Now I have used that excuse and trust me, it’s a lie we tell ourselves!

There is no reason to not tithe! Tithing brings so many blessings into your life. I have seen how tithing can affect a person’s life many times. The argument most people have is that in the Bible it is not stated that we tithe. Most of the time they get that from the passage of Corinthians 9:7 which is: 7Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver. Ok guys, the way I have always perceived that is He wants us to give our tithes and offerings cheerfully. So many give it as an obligation unto him and that’s not what He wants. He want’s us to want to do it. Another argument is that we, the new generation are only suppose follow the New Testament. Well, if that was true, then those 10 commandments would be out the window. 

Someone via twitter told me that Jesus never told us to tithe. At first I was shocked, but then I said people will come up with several reasons to not tithe, so why be surprised? He called us NT (New Testament) believers. Last I checked we are to follow the entire Bible. If God only wanted you to follow the New Testament He would have left out the Old. He argued or discussed with me why he felt that way. His argument consisted of us being Gentiles and that Jesus nor his apostles said we needed to tithe! He said that the church robs us of our money and that we are to give to the poor and people in need. Now I agree, we are to bless others… after giving God what is rightfully His! The crazy thing was that he is a pastor. I only had one other person to agree with him. The others were arguing this man down. I felt it was no need to argue.

I am disguisted at how he basically rewrote the Bible. So many people do that and it irks me. The church who tells you not to tithe is the church that robs you. They rob you of your blessings and they also rob you of a better relationship with God! I am so happy I am secure in my faith, because I could have easily fell into what he was saying. Because believe it or not what he said sounded correct but I know it was wrong. I pray he has the chance to correct his thinking. So that God can really work through him and bless him.

So if you don’t tithe will you start? If you do tithe then what is your reasoning? Do you understand why you should tithe?  I will be tithing because it is a written law in the Bible and I will no longer rob God. Plus the benefit of it is, I will receive it 100 fold. And He will bless me more than I can ever imagine. I want all that God has to give. So, if giving 10% of my money is all he ask of me monetarily, then here you go buddy. No longer will I let myself be fooled into believing that I can not afford to tithe! Neither should you! Tithe to God, give  offerings and bless those who need it.

*Muah*

3 thoughts on “Are You A Kingdom Thief?

  1. Hey bro,

    I admire your zeal but am afraid tithing is not relevant to today’s church. Have you ever read the book of Malachi from chapter one and verse one? Please do and you will find out that it was not written to today’s church but to the children of Israel, the priests particularly.

    Looking at the corinthians reference you provided, it never mentions tithes or a ten percent. Instead it says give WHAT YOU HAVE DECIDED IN YOUR HEART TO GIVE! 1%, 5% or a 100%.

    Try putting things in proper context. The New testament is the Old testament fulfilled. The ceremonial laws of the OT of which tithes was one of them is no longer relevant today because Jesus is the eternal sacrifice. The 10 commandments were not ceremonial laws and thus still relevant today. Right, so are you going to advocate animal sacrifice, circumcision et all?

    If tithing was still relevant, why did the Apostles not include it in their charge to the gentiles in the book of Acts? Also, why did none of the disciples mandate members of the early church to tithe in any of the epistles? Paul, John, James, Peter would have mentioned something that important. If I may be honest, it is you that is rewriting the entire bible. You are misquoting scriptures and taking them completely out of context.

    The NT command is – give anything you want to give and it certainly does not prescribe a ten percent.

    God bless

    • I am a woman actually not a bro. I will continue to tithe because it has been a blessing in my life. I am happy you read the post and keep reading!!! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

