College Is It a Waste?


To so many people college is the “American Dream” but for some it is nothing more than a waste of money. Just tonight I watched a twebate (tweets+debate) on twitter about obtaining a degree, and whether it was necessary for success. I even joined in and told them how I felt about college. I felt that, both women had a point in what was being said because everyone should have an opinion. One of the ladies felt that everyone didn’t need college to be successful. (She had a slew of peeps who agreed. Majority had no education of any sorts) The other felt people needed some form of higher education to get some form of success. Both ladies made valid points on why they felt the way they did. So since they made their points, I will give mine.

College is awesome for people who want it. But that’s just it, you have to want it. Now, let me give you some insight on my experience with college. I am still enrolled in school. College was never made as an option for me. I remember being in high school and repeatedly saying that I didn’t want to attend college. I also remember the backlash I got from my relatives on the subject. So yes, I felt obligated to go. I remember how upset it would make them that I, didn’t want to further my education. I didn’t feel the need to. Why? Because what I wanted to do, I felt wouldn’t require a degree. Now let’s fast forward to now. I still have the same feelings about school. I hate waking up to go and work a 9-5 then go to school. I hate the unnecessary classes they force you to take. I hate how my tuition goes up yearly and I have to pay that all back. I hate how I don’t have time to do anything fun. I hate how my dreams have been put on the back-burner for the “American Dream.”

Now, that is not saying I haven’t learned anything. I learned how to become better at writing my music. I learned how to pull my creativity out more. Yeah I know not much. But college is an awesome tool to better yourself. Most people who go to college and finish think differently than peeps who didn’t. As I read majority of the tweets in the debate. I saw the difference between the educated tweets and the uneducated tweets. I noticed that a lot of people didn’t understand what higher education meant. It doesn’t mean a college degree! It means you took some form of class to better yourself in what you like to do. If you like to write and you want to make money from it, honey you will have to go to at least one class. Even actors go to classes to better their craft. You can tell the ones that didn’t.  So, yes some form of education is necessary. A Pizza Hut manager has to take classes to get moved up. (I should know) It doesn’t matter what you do, you will need some lessons on it.

So is college a waste? No, it can help you to fulfill your dreams if you let it. Is it mandatory? No, you don’t have to go to college but not everyone can succeed without it. But you need to do something to help better your craft. Whether it be a trade or just a few classes. Not everyone is going to be in the entertainment industry or an athlete. Not possible. So decide for yourself if you like college or want to go. If you don’t, then don’t make others that do feel as if they are not achieving a goal. If you do, then don’t make the ones that, don’t feel bad about not going. It’s up to you on what you do with your life. Success is only obtainable when you achieve it at your own standards.

*MUAH*

 Oh yeah and it’s waste not waiste!

Leave a Reply

