Compromising Me for You!!


Have you ever asked yourself, “Why am I giving all of me and not getting anything in return?” I think almost everybody in the world has asked that question at least once. If you haven’t, good for you. Sometimes, relationships can take a lot from you. Whether good or bad. And sometimes compromising for love can break you. When you compromise, sometimes you end up doing things you wouldn’t normally do. The thing about compromising is, it is so natural. We don’t even realize we are doing it.

You always have to make sure that when in a relationship, you are not only making your significant other happy, but you are happy also. Compromise is necessary in all relationships, but to what extent? How far are you willing to go to have a relationship? I think so many people give in, just so they won’t be alone. It is not worth losing your integrity to be in love. At least not for me.

No it doesn’t always mean sexual compromises. Even though for some Christians that is the one thing they give up. You can give up so much more than that. Sometimes it means giving up dreams for someone else. Settling with lack luster goals b/c you are afraid of being lonely. Having kids that you know you may not be ready for. There are so many ways you could possibly be giving up you for them. Nothing and no one is worth your happiness. If you are meant to be, then both of you will make sacrifices not just one of you. It often causes regret and resentment. You may end up living your life wondering, “Why did I turn down that job or maybe we should have stopped at two kids.” A lot of relationships suffer b/c of this. Don’t let yours be next.

So sit down and ask yourself, “Am I acting out of character? Would I normally do that if I wasn’t with you?” I think some of us will be surprised at our answers. Then ask yourself, “Is it because I don’t want to be lonely?” If you answer yes to that one run for the freaking hills. So let me know if you have compromised before. I want to know if it was one way or both of you all were giving in. One last question, do you think Christians compromise a lot?

*MUAH*

3 thoughts on “Compromising Me for You!!

  1. I am compromising in my current relationship with distance..I mean we are both compromising which makes it work. We are miles apart but we know we got a good thing…so we sacrifice convenience and I mean we are tighter than some of my friends who are in relationships with dudes who live 5 minutes from they house.
    I’ve never had to sacrifice career…that would be the hardest thing for me to do because I consider myself to be a “career woman” but I’m also big on family…so until i get at those crossroads distance is the biggest compromise I have made to date.
    Great Post!!!!

Leave a Reply

