Our Belief System Is Different…


I am (having this conversation) speaking with a friend about relationships, religion and beliefs. So to brief you on it, here is the dilemma. They have different religious views and they feel differently about sex. Now both have A religion but not the same one. He feels that sex before marriage is not right. Which biblically, it’s wrong. She feels differently. He feels that he is in love. They have been dating for six months and to me it’s more of infatuation but who am I to tell a man what he feels? She tells him she doesn’t feel she is right for him and that SHE would bring him down because she knows that he loves God more than her. To sum it up, his feelings are hurt because he is “In Love” and he really wants it to work but he knows it won’t.

My Opinion

Me personally, I am not going to throw away a good man because our religious beliefs are different. I don’t feel like it should be a deal breaker. Now when he asked me what I thought, I took a minute to think. I explained to him that I understood the sex situation. When you believe in how God planned it out then you aren’t going to want to budge on it. Especially if the other person lets you know that they aren’t willing to change or even try to abstain. I felt that he was doing the right thing by letting her go because she didn’t feel the need to wait any longer. I let him know that temptation is EVERYWHERE and that when you feel tempted you are gonna want someone there to stop you. Not seduce you or let your hormones run free. I also told him that I think she is a great woman for being honest with him and letting him know that she didn’t want to hold him back from his spiritual relationship.

I then proceeded to tell him that when it came to religion, it’s just a word. Christianity, Baptist, Jews and Catholics are just words. You can look them up in the dictionary, they’re probably in the thesaurus. But the relationship with God and Christ is where his focus should be. Many people have religions. They can walk around all day and throw up their religion set and c walk all through church reppin Christ. But without a relationship it means nothing.

It shouldn’t be a deal breaker. I think the only way I would be like, it’s a no go is if the person is an atheist. Then I know we would be battling about a lot of religious subjects. I mean why would I throw away a man because he is Baptist or Jewish? Considering it seems as if the pickings are slim to none, why would I let religion hold us back? Especially if we are in “love.” I am at a point in life where I am trying to see the beauty in everything. And a different religion and culture would be beautiful. Yeah we would maybe have a few tiffs here and there about certain things but not enough for me to say, “Naw my boy, I gots to go.”

Now I know some are saying, well what about church? If we are different religions then we won’t be in the same church. Umm yeah you can make that work also. Visit each others church every other Sunday or when you all worship. I just don’t see it as a big deal. I think you have to really want a relationship like this to work. Because religion is always a touchy subject.

Readers what do you think? Do you think religion and beliefs are a deal breaker? Do you think my friend is crazy because he is choosing NOT to have sex with this woman before marriage? What are your thoughts in general let me know in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Our Belief System Is Different…

  1. There is a lot to be written here Je’ but I’ll try to be brief. Men become Christians & join churches, but we manifest the same fears about relationships and become “religiously correct” trying to measure up to biblical principles and christian standards of manhood.

    “I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out” (Romans 7:18)

    Your friend has decided to be honest with our Father, himself and others instead of showing “religiously correct” … His decision is correct, her words are true, she would distract him in his walk.

    • Oh now I agree he is doing the right thing by following his conviction. I just don’t know if I would throw away a relationship with a man because we have different religions. Don’t be brief this is fam!! Speak your mind! You know that!

Leave a Reply

